#### I MINA' TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2012 (SECOND) Regular Session

Resolution No. 482-31 (cor)

**Introduced By:** 

T.R.Muña Barnes

Relative to recognizing the former Executive Directors of Sanctuary, Incorporated of Guam as they as they commemorate 40 years of service to Guam's youth and families at their Blue Carpet Gala event.

## 1 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF *MINA' TRENTAI*

#### 2 UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, Sanctuary, Incorporated was founded on November 1971 by Father
Robert Phelps and Mr. Luis Martinez, who later became the organization's first
Executive Director; and

6 WHEREAS, the main goal of Phelps and Martinez was to create a safe haven or
7 temporary alternative to detention for Guam's young people; and

8 WHEREAS, it started out in the southern part of the island where members of 9 the community were asked if they could temporarily house youth who are not 10 appropriate for the youth correctional facility; and

WHEREAS, it is the vision of Sanctuary, Incorporated to be a community-based organization which exists to improve the quality of life for Guam's youth to promote reconciliation during times of family conflicts, to foster the development of responsible community members, and to advocate for their needs in an effort to preserve family unity by providing: 24-hour crisis intervention services, temporary safe refuge during family conflicts and abuse, supportive counseling for youth and families, outreach, education and prevention programs; and

WHEREAS, Sanctuary, Incorporated offers a wide range of services including a
24-hour Crisis Hotline, Youth Shelters, Case Work & Counseling, AfterCare programs,
COPED, the AmeriCorp Program, Supportive Counseling, Youth Embracing Sanctuary
(YES) Crew, Rural Host Homes, Street Outreach Programs, Relationship Intelligence
Programs, and the Fan Macho'cho Healing Farms Program; and

WHEREAS, the former Executive Directors of Sanctuary Incorporated are Sarah
Thomas Nededog, Luis Martinez, Ralph Villaverde, Mark Forbes, Christine Won Pat
Baleto, Annabelle Cruz, the late Tony Champaco and Stephanie Smith; now, therefore
be it

RESOLVED, that the Committee on Rules of *Mina'Trentai Unu Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of the people of Guamrecognize the former Executive Directors of Sanctuary, Incorporated of Guam as they as they commemorate 40 years of service to Guam's youth and families at their Blue Carpet Gala event; and be it further

15 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Committee on Rules 16 certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of 17 the same be thereafter transmitted to Sarah Thomas Nededog, Luis Martinez, Ralph 18 Villaverde, Mark Forbes, Christine Won Pat Baleto, Annabelle Cruz, the family of the 19 late Tony Champaco and Stephanie Smith; and to the Honorable Edward J.B. Calvo, *I* 20 *Maga'låhenGuåhan*.

# DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OFI MINA' TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHANON THIS \_\_\_\_ DAY OF JULY 2012.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed.D. Speaker

### TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES Legislative Secretary